Wire mirroring reality #n: Ray Nagin acts like Clay Davis

WWL TV did a piece on Ray Nagin Thursday night about his schedule.  What was he doing with his time, was he in Jamaica most of the year, were his kids in Houston, and so on.

Typical FOIA journalism.Only thing, See-Ray went coocoo for Cocoa Puffs.  He went ballistic, he went off his meds, he lost his religion, he went ape shit.

He acted like Ray Nagin, but for no good reason.
Then, he demanded time with the same station, to go on there and “assuage the crowd”.  What did he do?  

He did the most amazing Clay Davis impression I’ve ever seen.  SHeeeeeee-it, only without the charisma.

You can see the video here, but here’s a highlight or two from the transcripts:    

Paulsen: I hear from a lot of reporters, press people, they say that the mayor is just not accessible to the media.

Nagin: How much more accessible can I be? You ask me to come on every other week on this show, I’ve done that.

Paulsen: You’ve been very good about that.

Nagin: I’m out in the community.   

So now, Nagin is using the Clay Davis defense.  Brilliant, Clarence, just brilliant.  You don’t have receipts because you were handing the cash to the poor!  You don’t have time to be accessible because you’re busy being accessible!

Nagin: I have busting my butt bringing this city back.  

Anything to keep the brand out there, bitch.  I guess what we would call “campaigning” and “fund raising” you would call “busting your butt”.

Paulsen: You’ve gotten a lot of heat over the past couple of years. I’ve never seen you this emotional.

Nagin: Well because, your newscast, the local newspapers, are feeding these awful, ugly talk shows that are feeding these blogs. If you go look at some of these blogs out there and some of the stories that come from the paper and you read the comments, it’s some of the most vile, angry, people that I’ve ever seen in this community.

Paulsen: Are you concerned about your safety.

Nagin: I’ve got coverage. If somebody approach me wrong, I’m going to cold cock them. That’s the bottom line. You can come with that foolishness if you want, but you’ll see a side of Ray Nagin that you haven’t seen.  

I want to see that side, See-Ray.  The side I haven’t seen. 

The honest, competent side.

Evidently, nobody else has seen it either.

Ray’s lost it. He thought the “Clay Davis” defense would work for him, and it’s making him look like more of a fuckmook than he already is.

Much of this was stolen from my C.Ray post on my personal blog.

2 Comments

  1. There’s the Clay Davis Ray thought would work for him, then there’s the one he actually did:

    I guess what we would call “campaigning” and “fund raising” you would call “busting your butt”.

    and going back a ways, even Clay wouldn’t have tried that shit about posing with a weapon. Clay ain’t stupid like that.

  2. Sheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee-it.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.