Let’s do some real police work

And let’s do it by trying to see what the titles of the episodes can tell us.

The last couple of episodes have the titles The Dickensian Aspect and Took.  It’s obvious where the former came from, and the latter, well, that kind of makes sense as well.  Without looking at anything but the titles of the upcoming episodes, let’s see if we can make some kind of sense about where the crew is going in the final 3 episodes.

Clarifications, Late Editions, and -30- are the names of the last 3. 

I don’t really know about Clarifications, but Late Editions could have a big double-entendre going on.  There will be blood.

But I’m just stumped on -30-.  Wait, Wikipedia to the rescue.

“–30–” is a journalistic term that has been used to signify “the end” or “over and out” since the Civil War when telegraphers tapped “XXX” to end transmissions (“XXX” being the Roman numeral for 30).

Well, so much for that.  WPedia also said that the last episode is 93 minutes long.

14 Comments

  1. Speculation based on previews is that Clarifications refers both to the newspaper practice of having to print clarifications and corrections (see the return of Terry, the PTSD vet in the previews, saying that Templeton lied about something) as well as to characters revealing things to each other. (see McNulty yanking Kima into the interrogation room).

    I believe there is also no On Demand for the last episode.

  2. The Previews also show what looks like McNulty before a hostile review board. And Gus is really onto Templeton’s scam, I think.

    I didn’t know “-30-” either, other than as the name of a post-Avengers band Penelope Houston was in, but I googled it last week and then didn’t post because I didn’t want all the journalists to tell me “duh!” Or “ibid.” or “et al” or some other cussword.

  3. A group of people talking to McNutty always look hostile towards him.

    I agree with you about Gus, and “clarifications” like retractions may cause Templeton to get pissed. Although, with Marimow behind Templeton like he’s Jimmy Breslin, I don’t know what will come of it.

    Speaking of the PTSD vet, do newspapers still have ombudsmen? And if so, is this where they actually do their jobs?

    Come on Ray, that Franklin education had to teach both you and Bunk what “et al” meant.

    BTW, was he that good of a lacrosse player? Damn, does that mean you have pix of Omar in the yearbook, too?

  4. As far as we know, and we didn’t actually see what he wrote, just the reception of it, Templeton’s piece on Terry was on the level.

    It would be the ultimate irony if Terry falsely accused Templeton of lying and he got busted for it. (allow me a hee) Of course, I’m also interested in seeing if in fact, he did write the truth. Maybe we are the ones that got took on that one. He could have written a total lie but just did it in a restrained, non-purple, fashion.

  5. I’d like to see what Fletcher wrote about Bubbles. And yeah, that would be a hee hee if Blair got busted for fabrication when he was doing straight up reporting. Har.

    But I don’t think that Templeton can write anything restrained. If he’s gonna fabricate, he’s got to fabricate something big enough to get him a gig at WaPo.

    BTW, if he does get to WaPo, what the hell does he think he’s gonna do there? More fabrication? Sheeeeeeeeeeeeeeit.

  6. Never looked at “XXX” and saw -30- that I can recall. Now I won’t see anything else.

    In most bars, this kinda trivia might get you entered into the Clff CLaven Hall of Fame.

  7. I used to work at a small town newspaper (back in the day when they still used hot wax and X-acto knives to do paste up [/grandpa Simpson] and we used -30-, also when I was in college television journalism classes

  8. I used to do drugs with members of The Daily Texan staff.

    And I worked for a publisher of textbooks in Comm/Journo/RTF.

    And I met Athenae.

    I think I have drained my pre-NuPak journalism connections Oh, I once talked a Dallas Morning News columnist into doing a story about me (yawn…DMN?).

  9. “I used to sign my letters with XXX’s and OOO’s.”

  10. VT, I worked for a statewide business paper that was still doing pasteup w/ flats, hot wax and X-actos at the very beginning of the current century. AND we only had dial-up, so I had to walk to the public library – uphill both ways! in the snow! barefoot! – to get decent access to the Internets.

    Of course, I just stopped by that very publication’s new office this morning and it is swankier than swank (or at least what passes for it in this corner of the country) – exposed brick, private offices everywhere the eye turns and fancy flat-screen monitors. I guess it’s true what they say about all the $$ being in niche publishing these days.

  11. Back in the day, when we still used revolvers instead of semi-autos, hard copy was still part of the editing process. (We were computerized, but not everyone had one. And some dinosaurs liked to give a story a first read on paper. Something about their aging eyes.) Copy got dropped on the floor in the excitement, or mixed up in other papers on someone’s desk, or whatever. -30- was important for figuring out if you’d reached the last take (page). Once upon a time there was a journalism magazine called (more), which is what you put on the bottom of takes if there was another one coming. This also helped the guy in composing whose job it was to feed stuff into the OCR machines downstairs. Yes, we sent copy down via pneumatic tubes. And we SMOKED. Right in the newsroom.

    Now “take” means “opinion.” Thirty is the new 20. And I need to get my roots touched up. It is to weep.

  12. I used to sneak into the Rice Thresher offices at night to xerox copies of my fanzine, “Cosloy Youth”. Theft of copying services being one of the standard capers of 80′s punk rock DIY publishing. Fortunately I ran the radio station so I had access to the whole media hall.

  13. Check out this new interview with David Simon. S5 is the topic.

    http://www.newsweek.com/id/114438?from=rss?nav=slate

  14. New package up at the Wire-Simpsons cartoon art museum:
    http://periscopestudio.com/?cat=23


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.