Blue tops! Blue tops! Got that Season 4!

Quote from a teacher friend who was HBO-less during seasons 3 and 4 and is Netflixing her way through them:

“I administered a test today, kinda sorta fucked up the review on another, can’t wait to go home and watch some Wire.”

Buncha dope fiends, all of us. It’s like Season 5 is just the testers to get the fiends on the edge back out to the corners to suck up the good shit, the DVD product.

Hey Ashley, you and I, we go crawl under Chris Rose’s house while he’s at work and strip out all the copper piping, we’ll go up to Best Buy and split a box of Season 2. He won’t mind, it’ll give him something to write about on the state of the city post-K.

[WARNING: Comments contain minor spoilers]

14 Comments

  1. I’m up. Capers, man, capers.

    Also, it will give him something to cry in his beer, er, whiskey about.

  2. SPOILER WARNING

    minor spoiler
    minor spoiler
    minor spoiler

    minor spoiler
    minor spoiler
    minor spoiler
    minor spoiler
    minor spoiler
    minor spoiler
    On that note, [and this is not in any way a spoiler] keep your ears open during Epi 7 for the brand name of this year’s dope. Worth a chuckle.

    On another note, will there be a discussion of other seasons, or the merits of each season up in this wonderful venue?

    Which way do ya’ll lean? I’m a 3-1-4-2 guy myself, but I know some folk who swear by 1-4-2-3 and anotherh who goes by 2-4-3-1. Anyway, in the end it really is like choosing between children: the difference between those dashes is very, very small.

  3. On another note, will there be a discussion of other seasons, or the merits of each season up in this wonderful venue?

    I think you just started it.

    it is hard to choose, plus the depth builds by season. If we’re picking, I’d probably go 1-3-4-2, with not much daylight between. The farther we get away from Season One, the more it resonates. I agree each season is a standalone, but our understanding of stuff is all wrapped up in the Barksdale saga-that was the foundation that established “the rules” for the series.
    “This is America, man” RIP Snot Boogie

  4. I motherfucking hate On Demand more than I hate anything besides Katrina and George W.

  5. I stand here red-faced and embarrassed, although allow me a protest: you know that corner boys sling product on the show. Really, was it a spoiler? 2 O’Clock on Calvert Street. WIth Royce in an Afro-centric necktie.

    Still, this is your house, and I don’t mean to step on toes.

    Season-by-season, It’s really hard for me to put down the conclusion of the Barksdales, which was also the season of Cutty, the last good Major Case Unit wiretap, and Carver and Bodie starting to Get It. (Man, I really, really, really miss Bodie.)

    Thus, 3-1-4-2. But it’s so wierd to see the fourth season back there, and even wierder to see the excellent second season at the caboose. There really isn’t much daylight in between.

  6. Make a deal with you HonTea, the jury’s out till the new episode airs.

    If we agree, then I’ll grant you full retroactive immunity : )

    Till then, I need you to keep it canned, please.

  7. As a puppy walking on cotton.

  8. I have decided to get the first season from Netflix.

  9. Woo hoo, another one bites the dust!

    And after the first season, you HAVE to then watch the second because the story of the docks really blows the series open, even though at first it might seem out of place.

  10. I told myself I’d never shoot it, just smoke it, and I’d never watch On Demand. Then I told myself I’d never waste spots on my Netflix queue for TV shows I’ve already seen, or share needles. I said I’d never actually turn tricks in the bathroom at Best Buy for a copy of Season 3.

    Never never never say never…

    But there are some things I will not do for a minor speaking part on the New Orleans project. I might want one minor spoken line as a bartender or a bouncer or a fireman, but there are limits to what I will do to get it. I keep telling myself that.

  11. Never never never say never…

    But there are some things I will not do for a minor speaking part on the New Orleans project. I might want one minor spoken line as a bartender or a bouncer or a fireman, but there are limits to what I will do to get it. I keep telling myself that.

    You know when you make a list of the things you won’t do, you’re just setting yourself up for what you will do to get your next fix

  12. “Indeed.”

  13. It’s like the skinny chick at the AA meeting, all over again. Except in this fucked-up reality, Ray is the hot skinny chick. Why, God, why?

  14. It’s like the skinny chick at the AA meeting, all over again. Except in this fucked-up reality, Ray is the hot skinny chick. Why, God, why?

    Hey now, the transgender issues are in the Lake Trout Special thread above.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS